Fearless Vegan


Introduction: Being a Fearless Vegan in Denver
11 July, 2010, 12:02 am
Filed under: vegan

I have been a vegan for about six months now.  I love it and the way it makes me feel, physically and emotionally.  But being vegan is not always peaches and soy cream.  Without significant knowledge, supportive friends, and incredible will-power, it’s easy to fall into a nasty vegan trap.

Being a vegan can be very hard for most people, especially if you do it alone.  It involves not only giving up a lot of food, but also giving up a sort of convenience to your lifestyle.  No more simply ordering off any menu; you have to be that annoying person that asks to see all of the ingredient listings.  This inconvenience affects not only you, but your friends, family, and dining partners as well.  I often find myself wishing that I could simply look somewhere to find all of my answers.  Even after six months, I still find myself asking new questions every day.  What do those weird symbols on shoes mean? Do monoglycerides always come from dairy? Where can I get good fries that aren’t fried in carcass greases?

That’s why I’ve started this blog.  All of my own adventures and enlightenment will go here for anyone else to learn from.  I also hope that you can contribute your own experience and knowledge to this community. I want to provide support and encouragement–if you’re thinking of taking the plunge, or thinking of taking it back.  You can change your lifestyle, make a positive impact, and still be healthy and happy.

My primary interest in starting this blog was to compile a list of restaurant critiques for curious vegans (for whenever you wonder wtf you can eat at family outing dinner at such-and-such).  I also will be including, from time to time, baking and cooking tips (since most restaurants just can’t beat a good home-made meal), recipes, and general encouragement.  If you ever have any comments, suggestions, or would like to add one of your own reviews or recipes, please feel free to message me at kkla.marie@gmail.com.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

