Fearless Vegan


peppermint patties!
22 January, 2011, 9:18 pm
Filed under: recipes, vegan

I used to absolutely love york peppermint patties. delicious, rich, and melt-in-your-mouth… yumm! sadly, I haven’t had them since I went vegan.
…until recently, when a friend made them for a party. They were absolutely delicious! With some help from her and a recipe I found on the internet, I made my own batch.
It went something like this:

1/3 cup light corn syrup**
1/4 cup earth balance (softened)
2 tsp. pure peppermint extract
4 cups powdered sugar
approx. 10 oz. semisweet chocolate chips (I didn’t need the whole bag, and it is a shame to waste chocolate!)

**revision: I made this recipe again but with brown rice syrup instead of light corn syrup.  It came out even more delicious!  You may need to add a little extra powdered sugar to make up for the softer texture.

Blend together the corn syrup and earth balance. Add peppermint extract.
Using a hand mixer, blend in powdered sugar little by little (I normally go by cups or 1/2 cups). It should be really hard to mix by the end; don’t be afraid to go hands-in to do the final mixing. You want it to be nice and firm and rich, so feel free to add even more powdered sugar if you can.  Continue adding sugar until the mix isn’t as sticky.  They will still stick to your hands a little bit but will peel off cleanly.
Form the mixture into small patties and place on wax paper. Let them sit for a few hours to kind of firm up. They won’t be as sticky or soft on the outside when they’re ready to get cocoa-coated.
Melt the chocolate in the microwave or stove-top, whatever works best for you. Let the chocolate cool for at least ten minutes. This is very important!  You do not want the chocolate to be hot or even warm; the first few I made were before the chocolate had cooled, so the patty warmed and fell limp when I tried to dip it in the chocolate making for a very messy and ugly ball of ooze. (Luckily, ugly balls of ooze still taste delicious.)
Dip the patties in the cooled melted chocolate, coating all sides. I found this was easiest when I used a spoon to dip the patty, then flipped it and dipped the other side. I followed up with a little swirl on top with a twist of my chocolate coated finger. Set them back on the wax paper
Let cool in the fridge for a few hours. I didn’t have room in my fridge, so I covered it with foil and set it on my porch. But not everyone lives in Denver in the wintertime, so feel free to think of your own creative solutions.

Soon to come:
vegan almond joys. I couldn’t find any good recipes, so I am making up my own. I’ll let you know how it goes! 🙂

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] peppermint patties! […]

Pingback by Vegan Almond Joys! « Fearless Vegan




Leave a Reply

