Fearless Vegan


Garlic-Pepper Alfredo Pasta
25 January, 2011, 8:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

A while ago, I was scanning the web for some good vegan recipes.  One of my favourite recipe blogs is Vegan Yum Yum. (They also have a cookbook out that’s great).
I came across a recipe for “Hurry Up Alfredo,” which can be found here, and thought it sounded absolutely delicious. I subsequently bookmarked it and made a mental note to make it soon. Then, I forgot.
Until recently when I rediscovered it and decided to make it. Now, the first time I made this was back before Christmas, but I’ve made it a couple times now and have had people begging for the recipe. So I figured it is time to post it. Here’s my adaptation.

Garlic-Pepper Alfredo Pasta

1 cup almond milk
1/3 cup raw, unsalted cashews
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
2 tbsp liquid aminos (I didn’t have any soy sauce like VYY’s recipe called for so I substituted this.  You can go either way)
2 tbsp earth balance vegan butter
1 tbsp sesame tahini
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 tbsp dijon or horseradish mustard
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper or paprika (depending on the flavor you want; cayenne is hotter and spicier)
1 pinch nutmeg
1-2 tbsp minced garlic (I love the spice of garlic so I load it up)
2-3 tsp pepper (again, to desired spicy flavor)
1 regular package of favourite pasta

Add all the ingredients to a blender and blend until smooth.
Cook up some pasta slightly al dente.  spray the bottom of a glass pan very lightly, and pour pasta into pan.  Pour the blended alfredo sauce onto the pasta and cook at 350 degrees for 10-20 minutes, until desired crispiness.  Serve with pepper and a tall glass of water.  The first time I made this our mouths were burning for hours!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

