Fearless Vegan


Reason #4 I Love Being Vegan: Tempeh Bacon
12 March, 2011, 12:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Tempeh bacon is the perfect salty/crunchy/meat substitute.  Believe it or not, I’ve made my recipe of tempeh bacon for some carnivores who have liked it as much or better than real bacon.  Not to mention that it’s way healthier… other than being fried, it has significantly less fat, salt, and no cholesterol.  Delicious bacon strips that don’t cause heart attacks?  I’m in.

Tonight, fellow chef Melanie and I made tempeh bacon delicious desserts.  Having witnessed this recent chocolate-bacon food craze, we decided to embark on veganizing it so that we could see what it was all about.  We made cookies, fudge, and cupcakes, all with tempeh-bacon.  Our favourite though, was the cupcake: a rich, chocolate cake, topped with a spread of a homemade maple caramel, tempeh bacon crumbles, salted maple buttercream, and more tempeh bacon crumbles.  Weird, right?  But delicious?  You betcha.

Just a few reasons I love tempeh bacon.  And to think, if I wasn’t vegan, I’d be eating some shitty bacon candy bar I got at the grocery store and clogging my arteries.  All that flavor, and no clogged arteries.  A dream come true.  Go vegan.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

