Fearless Vegan


Raw: Chocolate Avocado Milkshake
13 April, 2011, 11:24 pm
Filed under: recipes, vegan

After my raw kick about a month ago, in which I went mostly raw most of the time (if you’re gonna make fun of this, you don’t know how hard it is to eat completely raw!), I realized I had lost about 10 pounds in two weeks.  But weight isn’t indicator of health: in this time, I also felt better, wasn’t tired, had lots of energy, had even clearer and prettier skin, and all around felt awesome.  Then, of course, as all good things come to an end, it kind of got away from me a bit (eating dinner out and craving french fries and whole foods’ vegan chocolate chip cookies will do that).
But! My faith has renewed and I am going to back to a mostly raw diet.  At the very least, I will do completely raw one day a week.  One of my favourite vegan bloggers, Vegan Crunk, does a Raw Food Tuesday.*  For simplicity’s sake, I think I’ll stick with that.

So, to kick off rawness, I made myself a milkshake 🙂  Chocolate Avocado sounds really weird, I know, but it’s delicious.  Here’s a recipe:

Chocolate Avocado Milkshake

1 cup almond milk (homemade raw if you have it!)
2 tbsp. maple syrup (you can use agave if maple is too expensive)
1 T cacao powder
dash of nutmeg and cinnamon
1/4 avocado (slightly under-ripe is best)
1/4 tsp vanilla
2 handfuls of ice

Stick it all in a blender and blend until creamy!  (Add more milk if you need.)
I may have accidentally put in a little too much cacao powder, but, in my opinion, all the better.
You can change this recipe a bit to your tastes as well: add in some cherries or strawberries, put a little bit of mint extract in with the vanilla, throw a banana in… the possibilities are endless.

Yum. Enjoy your raw milkshake full of vitamins and minerals, monounsaturated fats, and deliciousness!

*Meatless Monday, Raw Food Tuesday, … let’s make every day of the week veg and trick all the omnis!! mwahaha

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi!! My name is Nicole and I’m with a vegan food truck based out of Southern California called Seabirds. We’re heading to Denver the weekend of May 7th-May 8th for a national competition! We’d love to talk with you about having you reach out to the vegan and vegetarian network in Denver. Please e-mail me at nldaddona@gmail.com and we’ll chat! Thanks!!

Comment by Nicole

This is the best milkshake I have ever tasted in my life, better then anything you will ever get at diary queen. Soo glad I found this.

Comment by Alison

I’m glad you found it too! If you want more vegan recipes, you should check out another blog that I write for, at plantsanimals.org. We post lots of delicious recipes and also other interesting vegan tidbits/stories/rants.

Comment by kayla




Leave a Reply

